My Daily Day

A blog about some of the things I see・feel・want・think・wear・smell・mind・eat・hear・taste・love

10.10.2013

The weather has definitely turned, and that wonderful time I got to spend on the beach has become wonderful time I get to spend at my computer.  I guess I was secretly hoping for Endless Summer, but this is real life, not an excellent movie. (Thanks for the line, Phil)

It looks like the orange sunsets have gone pink.  I like it! Reminds me of Arizona.

It looks like the orange sunsets have gone pink. I like it! Reminds me of Arizona.

Sunrise stayed pink and there was smoke on the water because of the different air and water temps. The mist/fog/steam, whatever it was, didn’t translate very well into the photo, but it was beautiful and moving fast over the water.

My drama today came in the form of this little cardinal who has been visiting my deck every morning to sun herself.  She must have been overly enthusiastic this morning because instead of landing on the deck, she slammed into the sliding glass door.  It was a terrible sound and a terrible sight.  I was staring out at the ocean, which is what I do for the great majority of my days, and I saw her sail in.  SLAM! Oy!  She fell, lifeless to the ground looking dazed, but not dead.

 

I jumped up and ran to the door, but what could I do?  Mouth to mouth? Rub her belly?  I just stood there helpless, then did what anyone would do in an emergency, I signed on to Facebook seeking advice from my friends.

A 7:30 am bird emergency does not bring in a lot of response, not from my friends anyway. So I watched and paced. I know and accept that in the circle of life, these things happen, but I didn’t want them happening in plain sight, on my deck. It felt like a bad omen.

Coming around?Miss Bird hadn’t moved.  She was just sitting there and I couldn’t tell if something was broken. I looked for signs of distress, but birds don’t freak out.  They just … they’re birds!  She did look like she was in a stupor with her eyes half closed. I hoped she was just stunned, but I was pretty sure I was going to lose her.

I stepped away from the door to allow her some privacy. A while later, five or ten minutes, I looked again. She was still sitting, but her eyes seemed brighter and she was looking around.  In my excitement, I got up and went to the door again.  This time she made eye contact.  I think?  I got down on the floor and started whispering to her. “Come on, girl.  You can do it!  You can fly!”

She kept sitting and looking at me, and I thought, Oh, crap! If she dies while looking into my eyes that’s definitely a bad omen!

Just then something caught her attention and she cocked her head to the left.  Then she hopped up onto her feet and flew away.  WHEW!!!!!

She's back on her feet!In honor of Miss Bird and what she brought to my day, a poem:

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –
And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –
I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.
2 comments on “10.10.2013

  1. Lisa Hawes
    October 12, 2013

    Cool! But I think that is a purple finch not a cardinal…just sayin…that’s what Betsy would say, anyway…;)

    • Olivia Tejeda
      October 13, 2013

      Hmmm, maybe it turned purple after bonking into the window? Okay, I trust you … purple finch it is.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2013 by in Nature.

Navigation

